Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

An irresistible novel of unexpected friendships, second chances and dark secrets, from the bestselling author and Queen of Uplit Ruth Hogan.

‘Warm and wise’ Guardian | ‘A book to really love’ Stylist | ‘Will soften even the hardest of hearts’ Red | ‘Subtle and poignant’ Good Housekeeping | Plenty of spirit and heart‘ Daily Mail | ‘An adorable heartfelt story’ Prima | ‘Filled with hope and the power of friendship’ Evening Standard | ‘A whimsical, wistful affair’ Sunday Express | ‘A wrenching story of recovery’ Metro


Once a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, Masha’s life has been forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago. Unable to let go of her grief, she finds comfort in her faithful canine companion Haizum, and peace in the quiet lanes of her town’s lido.

Then a chance encounter with two extraordinary women – the fabulous and wise Kitty Muriel, a convent girl turned magician’s wife turned seventy-something roller disco
fanatic, and the mysterious Sally Red Shoes, a bag lady with a prodigious voice – opens up a new world of possibilities, and the chance to start living again. But just as Masha dares to imagine the future, her past comes roaring back …

Like her bestselling debut, The Keeper of Lost Things, The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes introduces a cast of wonderful characters, both ordinary and charmingly eccentric, who lead us through a moving exploration of the joy of friendship and the simple human connections that make life worth living.

*And if you loved The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes, try Ruth Hogan’s new novel, Queenie Malone’s Paradise Hotel, out now . . . readers are saying it’s her best yet*
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 3rd May 2018

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781473669024

Reviews

Warm and wise ... With her bestselling 2017 debut, The Keeper of Lost Things, Hogan won fans for her astute portrayal of grief and the human capacity for recovery. It is territory she revisits here, adding to her themes that of community and its power to heal. Her passages on loss are vivid and visceral ... But hope is never lost and catharsis is to be found in unlikely places'
Guardian
She has got an amazing gift of creating such interesting and lovable characters . . . our new queen of heart-warming novels
Waterstones Bromley
From the author of breakout hit, The Keeper Of Lost Things, this is a book to really love. Exploring the aftermath of grief and the ways people carry on (with humour, with solace, with lidos ...) Hogan writes welcoming prose that makes reading a joy
Stylist
Beautiful and unique
Take a Break
A compelling second novel, a powerful story about loss and healing . . . Fans of Karen White and Marian Keyes will especially enjoy Hogan's storytelling style.
The Booklist
Vibrant
Nina Pottell, Prima
The wonder of new beginnings
Prima
An adorable heartfelt story
Nina Pottell, Prima
Emotional
Love it!
A highly original and quirky novel, it was well written and managed to balance moments of darkness with sensitivity, as well as light humour
Mrs B's Book Reviews
What Ruth Hogan does beautifully is deals with really tough themes, but she does it with lightness and humour. She makes you see the joy and optimism in everything
Hannah Beckerman, BBC R2 Sara Cox Bookclub
What Ruth Hogan does beautifully is deals with really tough themes, but she does it with lightness and humour. She makes you see the joy and optimism in everything
Hannah Beckerman, Radio 2 Sara Cox's Bookclub
Thoughtful and moving ... Ruth tells a good story, she writes beautifully, and is a genuine talent. I look forward to reading more of her work
The Terrified Writer
The Lido by Libby Page and Ruth Hogan's The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes are both warm novels in which unlikely friendships help their protagonists tackle their demons
The Sunday Times
A powerful story about coming alive . . . Ruth Hogan depicts Masha's life with grace, eloquence, melancholy and this elegant writing is even more exquisite than in The Keeper of Lost Things
Apple Tree Antiquarian Books
Heartfelt and radiating warmth, it's difficult to not be drawn into this book
Reviews by Chloe
Heartfelt and radiating warmth, it's difficult to not be drawn into this book
Reviews by Chloe
The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes will soften even the hardest of hearts
Red
A book that will tuck itself into your heart
Emma's Bookish Corner
Hogan establishes a slightly left-of-centre world that's just a little more brightly coloured than the real one and deploys a host of eccentric characters to soften what is a wrenching story of recovery
Metro
The poster-child of the "up-lit" trend
The Bookseller
Sally Red Shoes has completely stolen my heart . . . Gentle, quirky, hopeful. So clever, so beautiful. LOVED it
Books and the City
Subtle and poignant
Good Housekeeping
This is a work that packs in plenty of substance alongside the sweetness....Despite tackling such huge topics as bereavement and cancer - Hogan's work is filled with hope and the power of friendship
Best uplifting books to read this summer, Evening Standard
A lovely, gentle, uplifting read
The Book Scoop
Gloriously gorgeous in every way . . . Ruth Hogan has the very special ability to look beyond the veil of unremarkable to find a sometimes painful, yet beautifully quirky existence . . . The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes is a must-read, and I enjoyed every single second of it
Lovereading
A novel that looks at how to live life to the full, even if you have suffered tragedy
Daily Mail
Laced with wit and charm
The Coast
Extraordinarily wonderful
The Last Word Book Review
Another beautiful story from an author who writes like a dream
Random Things Through My Letterbox blog
I love that the best and brightest characters were older women who had refused to live the life society would have dictated to them. The joy they offered in just being unapologetically themselves is a great invitation to us all.
Create Hope Inspire blog
This book is brilliant, absolutely brilliant, I loved it
Wilde Reads
The Up-Lit Queen
Sunday Post
Ruth Hogan has done a remarkable job. Once again she has proven that she has an uncanny ability to create a perfectly balanced, cosy and comforting read ... Her books are full of love, life, and human perseverance
The Bookish Bundle
A beautiful and inspiring tale that celebrates friendship that I am pretty sure will touch many hearts, it definitely touched mine
Alba in Bookland
Brilliantly written
Clem Loves
Uplifting
Corey Reads
Thorny issues are explored with a sensitive humour that takes nothing away from what people are feeling
BookBag
One of the stars of "up lit" - a literary trend with friendship and small acts of kindness at its core
Radio Times
A whimsical, wistful affair
Sunday Express
This book has plenty of spirit and heart
Daily Mail
We were huge fans of Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things, and her second book is just as brilliantly written - though you may need tissues at the ready!
Sun
Wonderfully warm and uplifting
Portobello Book Blog