Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Vet 2: the big wild world

The Vet 2: the big wild world

Luke Gamble is a West Country treasure. Like Dr Doolittle, but real!’ MARTIN CLUNES

Luke Gamble cut his teeth as a mixed practice vet in the West Country. Now it’s time to see if he can stand on his own two feet. Wild stallions, drowning cows and constipated snakes aside, Luke’s challenges have only just begun.

He’s come a long way from the fresh-faced graduate vet we met in The Vet 1: my wild and wonderful friends. He’s marrying the girl of his dreams while launching his own practice, Pilgrims. On top of that, he’s managing his international veterinary charity and two other veterinary businesses. On his extreme travels around the world, Luke dodges hippos and chimps, and swaps the familiar farms of home for the refugee camps of Africa, all on his quest to make a difference.

But Luke is more than just an international vet. He’s also a husband, a friend, an entrepreneur and, potentially, an Ironman triathlete. Does he have what it takes to juggle it all?

For fans of Arthur and Supervet, The Vet 2: the big wild world is an exhilarating, inspiring and moving adventure that animal lovers and thrill seekers will adore.
Read More

Genre: Biography & True Stories / Memoirs

On Sale: 12th April 2012

Price: £10.79

ISBN-13: 9781444721843

Reviews

Hang on to your seat belts - from the first page, the adventures of West Country vet Luke Gamble come thick and fast . . . the whirlwind pace will keep you turning the pages
Your Dog
Highly recommended: an interesting and romping good read that surprises and shocks at times, but most of all earns admiration for vets like Luke
Dogs Monthly
There's something rather endearing about Gamble's zest for life and his deep love of animals, which imbue his stories with authenticity and humour . . . the characters and their four-legged friends raise a smile
Daily Mail
A James Herriot for the 21st century
Choice
Luke's exploits never cease to amaze
Petfocus